Jeopardy Contestants: Can’t Get The Spelling Right

Jeopardy is perhaps the longest running quiz show in America. I watch the show pretty much every day. If I can correctly answer at least 10 or more questions in one episode, I feel like I am a genius.  Although I like the show, I never dreamed of auditioning for it (I don’t stand a chance).

Last Wednesday’s episode (July 16) was my bad night because I only managed to correctly answer less than 10 questions. However, my bad night of Jeopardy was not the reason why the topic made into my blog. It was the Final Jeopardy Round question. Read  the Final round question below. [Yeah, I definitely shouted out the correct answer before Alex Trebek could even read the entire question (as if Alex could hear me)].

I hope you answered it right too. Yes, the answer is the Philippines and two of the three contestants got it right.

 No big deal?……… Well, it was for me.

 As soon as I saw the written [correct] answers of Gail and Caitlin, my 2 previous blogs I posted earlier about the Miss Philippines Sash Typo on Miss Universe 2008   came flashing before my eyes.

Yes folks, both the contestants who got the [correct] answer have misspelled Philippines, just like in Miss Universe 2008 (PHILLIPPINES). The funny thing is Jeopardy  accepted the answer as if they (judges)  themselves did not know how to spell the name of the country P-H-I-L-I-P-P-I-N-E-S.

(As far as I can recall) In Jeopardy , if you mispronounce or misspell an answer even if it is correct, your answer is deemed wrong. So tell me why is it okay this time?

Beats me, I’m still wondering.

Check the contestants’ [misspelled] answers below. 

 Photo Snapped from: J! Archive

0 Responses to “Jeopardy Contestants: Can’t Get The Spelling Right”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

My Callers

  • 302,551 dropped by

