Samuel L. Jackson Picked Old Boy

Hollywood big name Samuel L. Jackson was asked by  the Entertainment Weekly Magazine June-July 2008 issue to list his favorite “new classics”. He listed his top 10 favorite “New Classic Asian Films” and he picked Old Boy as his number one.

I read this particular issue at an express lube yesterday. I had my car oil changed and my husband was with me then. While at the waiting area, the magazine caught my attention, therefore, I grabbed it and started flipping the pages over until I ran into this particular article. I showed it to my husband, who does not have a desire to watch any Korean movie, and told him that I have the Old Boy DVD sitting at home. To cut the story short, I convinced my better half to watch the movie with me just because Samuel Jackson said so. 🙂

Old Boy is an interesting film. I clasped my mouth and held my my breath when I found out almost at the end what was really going on. It was rather intriguing and unpredictable. Very good acting and amazing plot. The screenplay was kind of similar to Pulp Fiction with the exception of dizzy brain and blurred vision. No wonder why Mr. Jackson picked this film as his number one; no wonder why my husband was impressed with this movie as well.

Below are Samuel L. Jackson’s Top 10 Favorite “New Classic Asian Films”

1. Oldboy (South Korea, 2003)
2. Audition (Japan, 1999)
3. City on Fire (Hong Kong, 1987)
4. Infernal Affairs Trilogy (Hong Kong, 2002-2003)
5. Ong-Bak: The Thai Warrior (2003)
6. Azumi (Japan, 2003)
7. Family (Japan, 2001)
8. Duelist (South Korea, 2005)
9. Hard Boiled (Hong Kong, 1992)
10. Hero (China, 2002)

0 Responses to “Samuel L. Jackson Picked Old Boy”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

My Callers

  • 302,551 dropped by

