My First “Yummy”Mandu (Korean Dumpling)

 I finally made my first Mandu (Korean dumpling), yepeeee!

Oh hush! I know I suck at it. I don’t know how to wrap nor cook them well. The first batch I made were burnt to a crisp and the second batch were undercooked. The rest, I thought I did cook them pretty well. They tasted good although I did not have the Asian chives as what the recipe called for.

I saw a Food Network show called  “Throwdown with Bobby Flay” last Saturday where they featured Kim Sohui (chef and co-owner of The Good Fork Restaurant in Red Hook, NY). Flay and Kim had a dumpling throwdown and Kim Sohui won. I was more interested on Kim Sohui’s recipe than Bobby Flay’s so I tried my best to scribble down the Korean-American chef’s recipe. However, I couldn’t jot down everything she said so my information was incomplete. I went to Food Network website to see if the video of that episode was available but it wasn’t.

The recipe I used to fix these delicious mandu was from Maangchi with some of Kim Sohui’s touch on it. I am still not giving up in finding the Kim Sohui’s Mandu recipe. Hopefully the video (dumpling throwdown) will be available in Food Network website this week.

 

Related Post: Maangchi- My Favorite Korean Cook

 
9 Responses to “My First “Yummy”Mandu (Korean Dumpling)”


  1. 1 All About Asia May 21, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    From AC, who posted a comment in my Maangchi post:

    Sohui Kim’s Pork-and-Chive Dumplings

    2 tbsp. canola oil, plus more for frying dumplings
    1 cup diced onion
    3 tbsp. minced garlic
    2 tbsp. minced ginger
    1 cup chopped garlic (or Chinese) chives
    1 1/2 lbs. ground pork
    1 8-oz. package firm tofu
    3 tbsp. hoisin sauce
    1 16-oz. package dumpling wrappers (look for the Twin Marquis brand, Hong Kong style, available in many Asian food stores)
    1 egg, beaten and reserved in a small bowl
    Salt and pepper to taste
    In a large pan, heat the canola oil over medium heat. Add onions, garlic, ginger, and garlic chives and cook for 8 minutes. Season with salt and pepper and let cool. In a large bowl, combine pork, tofu, and hoisin sauce with the chive mixture. Test-fry a small portion of the pork mixture and adjust seasoning. (1) Holding dumpling wrapper flour side down, place a teaspoonful of pork mixture onto the middle of the wrapper. (2) Dip your index finger into the beaten egg and rub it over half of the outer edge of the dumpling. (3) Fold dumpling in half, crimping it in the middle and sealing along the egg-moistened edge, taking care not to leave any air pockets. Repeat procedure and pan-fry the dumplings until crisp and brown on both sides. Serve with a combination of soy sauce and rice-wine vinegar to dip. Note: makes about four dozen dumplings; extras will keep in the freezer for two weeks or so.

    ** Thank you AC!**

  2. 2 Chileen May 22, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    Looks delicious! Yummy!

  3. 3 Mandu Crazy May 23, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    My stomach is growling. Yeah I saw that Throwdown with Bobby Flay the dumpling episode. I also tried Bobby Flay’s recipe, it was sweet and minty. I was not really crazy about it.

    Mandu is soooo gooood!

  4. 4 Lin May 25, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    mouth watering!

  5. 5 Amy January 29, 2009 at 10:40 am

    Hi, is this Sohui’s recipe? I saw the throwdown too, so I was trying to google her recipe to see if I could find it. I was more interested in making her mandoo. I hope foodnet work post that mandoo throwdown video. Thanks!

  6. 6 ALL ABOUT ASIA January 29, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    Amy,

    This is not the Sohui’s recipe but close to it. I am really hoping Food Network will do a re-run of that episode so I can record it this time.

    I’ll let you know.

    regards.

  7. 7 Lynne Cervantez September 19, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    Can you email me her recepie!!!!! Just had dumplings yesterday and Chineese tonight and really in the mood to try to make some of my own dumplings and I want authenic recepie….

    Thanks!!!!!!!!!

  8. 8 Grace February 20, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    Here is a link to Sohui Kim’s pork and chive mandoo
    http://nymag.com/restaurants/recipes/inseason/17301/

  9. 9 gina May 4, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    Hello! I loved that episode too and am making a batch right now. I think I remember her recipe using silken tofu. I hope my batch comes out good.


Leave a Reply

My Callers

  • 302,816 dropped by

