Maangchi- My Favorite Korean Cook

Everytime  I crave for a Korean dish, I turn to Maangchi’s video. She makes cooking look so easy and her dishes look soo yummy! 

Maangchi has a very friendly personality and she shows a lot of enthusiasm in cooking. When you watch her cooking video, you feel like she is really talking to you and just you. She has that kind of effect on me, I don’t know about the other thousands of her Youtube subscribers.

I like her latest featured dish , Mandu, which is shown on top. I would like to fix it sometime this week. I have half of the ingredients that were listed on Maangchi’s site. I still have to look for the mandu skins, the fish sauce, and the Asian chives. I spent about an hour the other day at Lowe’s Foods (grocery store) looking for chives but to no avail. I guess I will have to go to Asian store sometime this week and hopefully it will be there and the rest of the ingredients.

Below are my other favorite Korean dishes prepared by Maangchi:

Jjajangmyun

 

Kimbap

 

Kimchi

 

If you want to check out the rest of Maangchi’s videos, just go to her Youtube profile Maangchi or you can visit her personal website: Maangchi’s Official Website

By the way, maangchi means hammer.

To: Maangchi

        If you happen to visit my blog, I would like to say “Chong mal kamsahamnida!”

 

Related Post: My First “Yummy” Mandu (Korean Dumpling)

7 Responses to “Maangchi- My Favorite Korean Cook”


  1. 1 Maangchi May 15, 2008 at 1:37 am

    Hi,
    knock knock knock! I’m maangchi!
    I don’t know how much I thank you!
    Oh, you couldn’t find asian chives (bu chu)? If it’s not available, you can use chopped onion, green onions, or zucchini (thinly sliced, salted, and squeezed)

  2. 2 AAA May 15, 2008 at 4:11 am

    Hi Maangchi,

    Thanks for visiting!

    As usual you are always ready to give advise…

    Kamsahamnida!!!

    — catiring

  3. 4 ac May 21, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    Sohui Kim’s Pork-and-Chive Dumplings
    2 tbsp. canola oil, plus more for frying dumplings
    1 cup diced onion
    3 tbsp. minced garlic
    2 tbsp. minced ginger
    1 cup chopped garlic (or Chinese) chives
    1 1/2 lbs. ground pork
    1 8-oz. package firm tofu
    3 tbsp. hoisin sauce
    1 16-oz. package dumpling wrappers (look for the Twin Marquis brand, Hong Kong style, available in many Asian food stores)
    1 egg, beaten and reserved in a small bowl
    Salt and pepper to taste
    In a large pan, heat the canola oil over medium heat. Add onions, garlic, ginger, and garlic chives and cook for 8 minutes. Season with salt and pepper and let cool. In a large bowl, combine pork, tofu, and hoisin sauce with the chive mixture. Test-fry a small portion of the pork mixture and adjust seasoning. (1) Holding dumpling wrapper flour side down, place a teaspoonful of pork mixture onto the middle of the wrapper. (2) Dip your index finger into the beaten egg and rub it over half of the outer edge of the dumpling. (3) Fold dumpling in half, crimping it in the middle and sealing along the egg-moistened edge, taking care not to leave any air pockets. Repeat procedure and pan-fry the dumplings until crisp and brown on both sides. Serve with a combination of soy sauce and rice-wine vinegar to dip. Note: makes about four dozen dumplings; extras will keep in the freezer for two weeks or so.

  4. 5 All About Asia May 21, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    Oh! You’re so wonderful!

    Thank you AC!

  5. 6 CyNurse September 16, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    I am a big Maangchi fan! I subscribed to her podcasts. Her videos make Korean Cooking seem so easy.

  6. 7 violeta scornik January 29, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    you are a great teacher,Maangchi CONGRATULATION!


Leave a Reply

My Callers

  • 302,816 dropped by

